Aspergers Syndrome

The symptoms of Asperger Syndrome are categorized as behavioral, muscular, and mood. The behavioral symptoms are aggression, compulsive behavior, fidgeting, impulsivity, repetitive movements, social isolation, and persistent repetition of words or actions. The muscular symptoms are the inability to combine muscle movements and poor coordination. The mood symptoms are anger, anxiety, and apprehension, as well as depression, intense interest in a limited number of things, learning disability, nightmares, or sensitivity to sound.

There is a wide spectrum of difficulties that someone with Aspergers has to face. They might find it hard to understand that conversations are a two-way process, or have problems interpreting gestures, facial expressions, and tone of voice. They also have difficulties with unwritten social rules, like when it is appropriate to touch someone and what things are OK to talk about in public.

One thing I find difficult in my daily life is staying on task. I have a tendency to get distracted and forget what I was doing, especially when I’m on my computer. I remember something I had to do a few days ago and finish that, but in doing so I get completely sidetracked. In order to keep myself on task, I try and stop to think about what I’m supposed to be doing. It helps keep me working on one task at once so I don’t get distracted.

Leave a comment